Living Wisdom

Wisdom.
Webster defines it as – knowledge, insight
a.    accumulated philosophic or scientific learning : knowledge
b.    ability to discern inner qualities and relationships : insight
Free on-line dictionary defines it as – the ability to discern or judge what is true, right, or lasting; insight.

Image Credit: Google Images

Image Credit: Google Images

There’s a wealth of wisdom accumulated over the years; some captured in books, some passed on from generation to generation. At times we find certain wisdom makes sense only in books and that presumption makes it hard for us to carry it out in life. E.g. we all know that nothing is perfect in this world (except your wife, exceptions are always there). In spite of this fact how many of us actually look at our glass half full? We more often tend to look it as half empty and put ourselves in a chase after futile things. However there are few people who live a life which is wisdom in itself. A life we all would like to live, something not so hard to follow and still we make it a challenge. Here’s a story of a common man and a simple concept that’s quite inspiring!

After graduating from high school & before commencing the college, I had some elaborate plans to spend my well-earned vacation. Whenever I have been over-joyed about my immediate future, Mr. Murphy have hijacked the script & modified it with his very own popular version. In this case it was my father who made plans to better use my vacation. He accounted for almost everything in that plan except my willingness. We (kids in sub-continent) are raised to agree on everything elderly family members have to say. Anyone five years & more than your age is your elder. Not sure where that limit five came from, but I know that my sister five years younger to me had severe challenges agreeing to my talks. So I guess over five is the accepted norm to be privileged as an elder. I am sure my father presumed that he can grandfather my will under that ancient tradition.

We were living in a mid-sized city in western India & he bought a property in the suburb of the city. He realized that serenity of suburbs precedes the comforts of city. I was not in disagreement with that. In fact I had a vested interest in moving to the suburb. The vested interest wasn’t anything great looking back at it now; it was merely driven by teen hormones and not neurons. The house needed some fixing before we can call it our new home. It was about a four years old house but no-one had lived there permanently, the first owner had used it as a vacation home. It needed some basic elements for permanent dwelling. Instead of contracting it out he decided to give a face-lift using day laborers & hourly skilled workers; and of course putting me in-charge to oversee that all. This was his audacious plan to better use my vacation. He assumed that this new challenge filled responsibility would make a good graduation gift!  Anyone can tell that this was nothing more than an unpaid internship. He justified his plan by saying that this would be a great hands-on learning opportunity for me to gain some management skills. I had a long list of things to do during the vacation & learning was not on that list. How much can you eat between two heavy meals? My exact point, how much can you learn between two major learning experiences – High-school & College? My father lacked that critical analytical skills to comprehend my simple logic and somehow I was assigned a learning assignment! I am a kid from sub-continent born in last century who generally lacked persistent disobedience at home. Not claiming I was the best kid who deserved a gold star on compliance but I picked my battle of resistance.

Image Credit: Google Images

Image Credit: Google Images

My grandfather was a great visionary; he foresaw my fray with Mr. Murphy & advised me at the age of five that, “if you can’t avoid it enjoy it”. He motivated me to drink that third force feeding of daily milk dose by saying, “pretend its molten ice-cream”. A positive attitude helps you come out of the stickiest situation and may even help enjoy going through one. It’s all about attitude, and I was banking on that single ray of hope to brighten so far gloomy looking vacation. I motivated my mind to yield something positive out of this experience and didn’t took me long to find my molten ice-cream in restoration project; access to the restoration budget & opportunity to customize house as per my needs.

 ……… to be continued.

About Yatin

Amateur Scribbler. Equal opportunity scribbler on Stupidity and Sanity.
This entry was posted in Random Thoughts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Living Wisdom

  1. “Pretend it’s molten ice cream.” Talk about unique advice! I hope you’ll devote a future post to just that—and more from your visionary gramps 😉

    • Yatin says:

      I call him visionary, because he got me out of trouble so many times & prevented me getting into one at times too. I wasn’t fortunate enough to spend much with him. He passed away when I was five. My vivid memories about him are filled with fun & lots of stories. Molten Ice-cream! He just had a way to convince me than the conventional means my parents applied. 🙂

  2. jakesprinter says:

    Great work Yatin glad to see your new post again , Thumbs up 🙂

  3. “If you cannot avoid it, enjoy it”- laakhon ki baat!

    I loved reading this post. It is wonderful to think of life in the retro mode and at times such act is so much full of memories of situations where we could not say no or disobey an order. In retrospect, these moments appear as thrillers which provoke us in the present and suggest solutions too for a problem that once was!

    Want to read more of your posts with such ‘biographical’ content!

    Regards!

    • Yatin says:

      Absolutely, I am a memory lane drifter & like to cherish on sweet memories in present. That’s my treasure trove. Sure I’d share few here on this log too, and yeah I’d like to see more of your biographical content too.

      • hmm that is a nice area to explore. and your saying so further provokes me some what to dig things for the blog! let me think what can be presented without sounding too annoyingly narcissistic and nostalgic 😛

        • Yatin says:

          YOUR matrawali Priya distracted me and I missed a thought in my prior comment. Most of my posts tagged Random Thoughts are based on some sort of personal experiences, (lose change from life’s little transactions), content may have altered a bit for the blog 🙂

          • hahaah….yeah i can see that…it this one had more direct references to some concrete events which I liked so much!

            I know blogging restricts the writer in quite a number of ways. Perfectly understandable!

  4. susielindau says:

    This is great Yatin. It IS all in the attitude after all!
    Look at how many likes you have. You are a rock star!

  5. I love your grandfather’s advice about the molten ice cream. 🙂 You are so right about perspective being so important. You took what could have been a punishment and made the best of it. You are very inspiring. 🙂

  6. Addie says:

    The Philippine culture doesn’t really acknowledge the limit 5 or be it a 10. Not sure if it’s an advantage, though.

    Great post. Loved the pieces of advice from your elders. Thanks for sharing. Now I have something smart to say to the young’uns.

  7. parents! loved your grandfather’s suggestion 🙂

    • Yatin says:

      I think the affection bond gets stringer as it skips a generation 🙂 Growing up I expressed the same Parents!!, now my kids probably do the same with us, however they get along very well with their grand-parents!! 🙂

      • we bengalis say that the interest of an investment is more cherished than the investment, thats why grandparents love their grandkids more 🙂

        • Yatin says:

          Oh yeah that’s given, the principle & interest concept in context with kids/grand-kids is prevalent across the sub-continent. And when you talk about interest we take the concept en extra mile 🙂

Share a thought

