A Priceless Gift and Holiday Spirit

Image courtesy myonepreciouslife.wordpress.com

Holidays are around; it’s a giving & sharing season. Everyone’s busy trying to make that final dash at the mall in order to complete the holiday list. Some people take huge efforts to find that perfect gift for their loved ones. I saw a post from a co-blogger that posed a question is there a perfect gift?

Not sure about others but one gift that I received as a kid is still fresh in my memory, even a thought of that moment spurs an upbeat feeling in me. I went to a catholic school for my elementary education.  I celebrated my first Christmas in kindergarten. Our school used to put up a tree for holidays and little celebration. Prayer, few carol, an inspirational speech by a senior teacher and kids would wait the moment of the day, receiving a gift from Santa. School would usually get three or four different varieties of popular gifts of the season. Santa would pick a random gift; wrapping would hint boy or girl gift. That year it was a blue car, a stuffed snowman, a bamboo-flute and couple of other girl things. I wanted the flute. My eyes were glued to the pile of gift boxes & in no time noticed that the long boxes, the one that had flute in it were disappearing fast. Whoever piled the boxes did a lousy job in placing all long boxes on top. I started praying, both the. One that was taught at school, other learned at home. A kid just back from Santa announced no more flutes left. I should have flipped the coin for prayers. Two different prayers may have confused the staff up there. “Never lose hope” were words still echoing in my mind from the speech delivered by that gentleman few minutes ago. I was clinging to those words like a creeper vine.

When my name was called my eyes were desperately seeking that lean long box. Santa wished me Merry Christmas & handed me a big box. In response lips that were supposed to stretch wide with a smile dropped down to a puppy face. My eyes were now glued to the tree which had couple on them as ornaments – my desire of the day. Teacher standing near by maneuvered my shoulder hinting me to go and take a seat. My eyes still glued in desperation to the tree. My obvious body babylanguage didn’t go unnoticed with Santa. Letting out his Ho Ho Ho one more time he spread his arms & I gravitated into the hug. He carried me and asked, what’s the matter Son? I pointed towards the tree, he took a step near the tree & I plucked the slender box. Clutched in my tiny fist the box did a charm, my face lit up brighter than the tree and lip corners rushed to greet ears.  Santa let out a loud laugh, with a kiss on my forehead he put me down. Ecstatic, I jumped my way back to the seat.

I celebrated four more Christmas in that school, received numerous presents in my life on Christmas, Diwali & Birthday. None came close to the gift that I received that day. Santa was probably an hourly paid professional as I think of it now. I was one amongst the hundred kids out there & he could have just handed any box & waited for the next kid. Instead he did something different. He saw that little kid’s face in murk, and made that extra effort to convert that gloom into glee. That flute was probably worth five bucks, may be lasted for about two years but the sweet memory associated with that gift is tattooed permanently in my mind – priceless. The gift from material stand point was just an ordinary gift; however it had an association of kind gesture, a gesture that read a down face and brought a smile to it. The gesture adds preciousness to the gift.  I have read some where, “You are not wealthy until you have something that money can’t buy.”  I think the best gift someone can give is a priceless gift that makes a person “wealthy”.

Image courtesy susielindau.com

  Holidays are all about spirits. It’s about getting into the spirit for the holidays. It’s about celebrating the festival with spirit along with your friends and family. Remembering the lost ones and loved ones who are not near, knowing that they are always with you in spirits. It’s the time to show some spirit for the under-privileged. No matter how tough the year has been so far, festivities are meant to keep your spirits high. I personally like being high on spirits during holidays. Secret Santa at company and my eyes are looking for that long packet, the 750ml long packet. I guess the spirited kid in me is still alive; same choice just a different taste!! It’s all about the spirits.

Feel free to share about your spirits this Holidays.
And finally if this Holiday Spirit rambling has put anyone out of spirits, blame it on Susie  & Stephanie . Susie incited me to write a post on Holiday spirit here  &  Stephanie’s post on perfect holiday gift spur random thoughts in my mind about one precious gift. As a tribute to the inspiration derived to compile this post, I have stolen images from both the posts & pasted it here.

Hope you all have Happy Holidays.

About Yatin

Amateur Scribbler. Equal opportunity scribbler on Stupidity and Sanity.
This entry was posted in Random Thoughts and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to A Priceless Gift and Holiday Spirit

  1. susielindau says:

    What a thoroughly amazing post! I read this to my daughter and she loved it too! Your story is one of belief, hope and spirit. It truly hits on so many levels and is perfect for the season.
    Thank you so much for sharing and for including me in your wonderful post!
    Have a very Merry Christmas my friend!

  2. Yatin says:

    That’s so sweet. I hope her Santa makes her wish come true this Christmas! 🙂 Merry Christmas to you and your family!

  3. Thanks for the positive post about Christmas! We’ve been visiting refugees this week, and it reminds me of how God can bring us hope!

    • Yatin says:

      I think it’s the Holiday magic in the air that brings out the tenderness amongst us. That’s so nice of you to share moments with people in need and keep their spirits up during Holidays. I am sure your kind gesture is appreciated by people here & divinity up there.

  4. verda.khan says:

    Very refreshing post! Merry Christmas.

  5. eMoTuRtLeT84 says:

    I guess it’s true that the only present that truly brighten one up is the present that one wishes to get. The rest doesn’t quite matter as much isn’t it? Thanks for sharing your childhood memory. It warms my heart to know you got what you wished for, all thanks to a kind soul who made your christmas complete. hope you had a merry xmas. Happy new year!

  6. Yatin says:

    Thanks for leaving a thought. Yes every gift is appreciated but what makes it special is a warm thought and kind gesture that’s bundled in with the gift. Happy New Year to you too!

  7. jakesprinter says:

    Great Entry for this Holiday Seasons Yatin 🙂

  8. I just love the holidays. It’s a time to reflect on the year, spend time with my family and friends, and be grateful for another new year. I really enjoyed reading this post. I hope you have a great New Year

  9. freespirit2 says:

    Truly inspiring post. Holidays do bring family together, my wish for 2012 would be that families come together more than just on the holidays.
    Loved your story.
    Many blessings to you for the New Year!

  10. imexcited says:

    I know the holidays are over but it’s my first time to visit your blog and I like this article so here I am…I think at that time, God touched that Santa, hence you got what you wished..So what happened to your love of playing the flute?…

    BTW, thanks for stopping by at my blog…

    • Yatin says:

      I would guess so. Santa was definitely touched by God! My love for music still prevails, I just spare music instruments. We together don’t produce desired results :). Thanks for dropping by.

  11. The Hook says:

    Thank you for that trip down Memory Lane!

Share a thought

